Skip to main content

AHS 101 - Wellness: Home

On this page...

  • How to do effective research.  You need to know what databases to search but you also need to know how to search effectively. 
  • How to get items not owned by Buswell Library.  Get them through i-Share (books only) and ILLiad.

Finding Information - Databases

While you may be able to find what you need using the search box on the library homepage, it may be advantageous to search in a  specific database.
"I hope you find this guide helpful. Don't hesitate to contact me to discuss your research or ask a question."

Dr. Terry Huttenlock 

Send Email 
Office: Buswell 152 
Phone: x5352

 

Chat is Offline
Search library FAQs

 

Text: 630.426.3432
Phone: 630.752.5169

 

Finding Articles/Books/DVDs/Videos

Begin searching the at the library's homepage at http://library.wheaton.edu

When formulating your search strategy:

  • Use search terms or keyword(s) or search by title, author, or subject words if you know them.
  • Use quotes ("") to search for an exact phrase
    • (e.g. "college students")
  • Use a truncation symbol (*) to search all word variants
    • (e.g. compute* retrieves compute, computing, computer, and computers)

When you are looking at your search results:

  • You can select the format:
    • (e.g., "Books," "Articles," or "Video/DVDs")
  • You can select "peer reviewed" for scholarly articles

Interlibrary Loan

Is there a book or article you want for your research but Buswell Library doesn’t own it?  Get it through ILLiad - Interlibrary Loan

Make a request by:

  •  clicking a Request Item... button to request a book.  Requesting from i-Share requests it from libraries in the state of Illinois and tends to be faster.
  •  clicking Find it!  If you find that there is no full text available, click the "Request resource via ILLiad" link.

Pick up books at the Main Library circulation desk.  Articles are retrieved electronically.  You will receive an email with instructions when materials arrive.

Questions?  Contact Interlibrary Loan at (630) 752-5843.

Cite your Sources!!

 

Online Help @ The OWL (Online Writing Lab, Purdue Univ.)

Or find an APA Handbook in Print in the library Reference Collection at call number RR 808.02 Am35p, Ed. 5.


Online Help @ The Owl (Online Writing Lab, Purdue Univ.)

Or find an MLA Handbook in Print in the library Reference Collection at call number RR 808.02 M72h Ed.7.