Skip to main content

Reference Managers: Home

Explains how to install Zotero, Mendeley, and Endnote, and collect resources, write, and cite using these products.

Recommended programs

Buswell library offers full support to current Wheaton users for the reference managers below.

Zotero  
 
Buswell library offers limited database connectiviy support for EndNote.

 

Common features

Zotero, Mendeley, EndNote and Refworks all provide similar functionality for:

  • Collecting and orgainzing citations and full-text
  • Creating bibliographies
  • Using different bibliographic styles
  • Word processor integration to "write and cite"
  • Using your mobile devices
  • Access from anywhere, syncing, and sharing via cloud-based options

Get help now!

   
Search library FAQs

Text: 630.426.3432
Phone: 630.752.5169

Reference Managers

Reference managers are easy-to-use tools that can help you collect, organize, cite, and share research sources.  

How do I choose?

 

If you need to ... Use: Why:
... work from multiple computers or locations

Zotero
Mendeley
EndNote
RefWorks

Zotero and Mendeley save references to a local computer but sync with muliple computers and the web so you can access your resources and work from anywhere.

EndNote requires a separate online account, but then syncs to the web, while RefWorks is entirely web-based.

… work without an Internet connection.

Zotero
Mendeley
EndNote 

Zotero, Mendeley desktop and EndNote store your citation libraries locally on your computer.
… archive web pages and import citations from sites such as Amazon and Flickr.

Zotero
Mendeley

Zotero and Mendeley allow you to save snapshots of web pages and add annotations. Scrape citation information from web-based publications and some commercial and social networking sites.
… work on a group project or share my citations with others.

Zotero
Mendeley
EndNote

You can create shared folders with Zotero and give other Zotero account holders permissions to add and edit the citations in the shared folder. 

Mendeley allows you to create a group of up to 4 members for free.

EndNote users can share references through the online EndNote Basic web environment.

… work on a mobile device

Zotero
Mendeley

Mendeley offers a mobile app for iPhones and iPads; Zotero has several 3rd-party mobile apps available.

Comparison Chart

See how Zotero and Mendeley compare in this VIDEO from Portland State University (OR).

Feature

Reference Manager

Zotero

Mendeley

EndNote

RefWorks (Individual Subscription)

Cost

Free Free

One-time software purchase ($$)

Annual subscription ($)

Platform

Browser plugin or desktop client

Web-based options available

Desktop client

Web-based options available

Desktop client

Web-based options available

Web-based

 

Word-processor compatibility 

 MS Word

Open Office

Google Docs

MS Word

Open Office

LaTeX

MS Office

Open Office

iWork Pages

MS Word using Write-N-Cite

Other word-processors with One Line/Cite View

Attach associated files (PDFs, etc.)

Yes, with option to attach automatically Yes Yes No

 

Annotate/highlight PDFs

No   

Yes

Yes

No

Search full text of PDFs

Yes

Yes Yes

No

Import from databases

Yes, with browser bookmark

Drag-and-drop downloaded PDFs

Browser bookmark

Export option embedded in most databases

Search some databases from within EndNote 

Export option embedded in most databases

Groups  

 Yes, unlimited members

Yes, limited to 4 members. Additional available for purchase

Yes, unlimited members, web account only

Yes, through creation of a shared account

Personal Storage Space

300MB

Unlimited space may be purchased from Zotero

2GB

Unlimited space may be purchased from Mendeley

5G of online storage

Unlimited number of references stored on desktop
Unlimited