Skip to main content

Students @ a Distance: Home

Guide for enrolled students who are at a distance.

Using the Library @ a Distance ...

  • To get full access to the library's catalogs and databases, you will be prompted to log in or authenticate with your college-issued username and password. If you don't know your network credentials or are having problems authenticating, contact AIT at 630-752-4357 or ait.service.desk@wheaton.edu
  • The library provides access to many online full text journals and ebooks. In most cases, however, books will only be available in print, and you will need to request a scan of a chapter or the book to be mailed to you. For this service please use buswell.delivery@wheaton.edu. More...

In addition to the library's databases, we encourage you to try Google Scholar (https://scholar.google.com) when searching by subject. Using Scholar's "library links" feature, you can link directly from Scholar search results to the library catalog and to some full text online journal articles. Read more...

   
Search library FAQs

Text: 630-426-3432
Phone: 630-752-5169
Loading

Accessing resources for your research paper or project

Wheaton students have access to a large number of online databases that can be used to search for information on your topic.

You can access databases from the library web site under the "Databases" tab.  You can find databases by discipline or by title.  Contact your subject librarian if you need help selecting appropriate resources.

  • When you are in a database and full text isn't available, look for the "find it" button. "Find it!"...
    • ... searches Wheaton's access to full text in other databases.
    • ... gives you the opportunity to place an ILLiad/interlibrary loan.

When not on campus Wheaton students have access to a large number of full text online journal articles.

When searching in a database if full text is not available, use the "find it!" button,

  • The "Find it!" button...
    • ... searches Wheaton's access to full text in other databases.
    • ... gives you the opportunity to place an ILLiad/interlibrary loan request.
      • Add your program and status in the note field, "e.g. Off-campus student in ELIC program."
  • If you have a citation, use the Citation Search, found on the articles tab on the library home page to use "Find it!" to look for full text.

 If you need help, contact interlibrary.loan@wheaton.edu.

Ebooks

The library collection contains a large number of e-books.  Search using the search box on the library home page.  When your results screen is displayed, use the facets on the left side to limit to ebooks. 

Book Chapters

The library will also scan a book chapter of a print book in our collection. 

If you are in a database:

Use the "Find it" to request the item through ILLiad.  Add your program and status in the note field, "e.g. Off-campus student in ELIC program." 

If you have a citation:

  • Log in to ILLiad
  • Select Book Chapter under "New Request."
  • Input your citation information.
  • Add your program and status in the note field, "e.g. Off-campus student in ELIC program." 

The chapter will then be scanned and sent to you as a digital copy. If you need help contact interlibrary.loan@wheaton.edu,

If Buswell does not have a copy of the book with the chapters you need, you can order it through i-Share or ILLiad and then request specific chapters to be scanned and sent as a digital copy.  Additional details and instructions are on the library web site.

Print Books

If a student is more than 50 miles from Buswell or an Illinois i-Share library (Map of i-Share libraries), Buswell will mail books from Buswell's print collection and books obtained from i-Share/ILLiad libraries to a U.S. address at no cost to the student.  The student will be responsible for the cost of mailing books back to the library.  Additional details and instructions are on the library web site.

 

Using other Illinois libraries

Busell Library belongs to a consortia of Illinois academic libraries called i-Share.  As a member you can:

  • Visit any Illinois i-Share library and check out books using your Wheaton ID.  Map of i-Share libraries.

  • Return any books you checked out from Buswell Library at any i-Share library.

  • Request books owned by other i-Share libraries to be delivered to another i-Share library near your location.

  • If a student is more than 50 miles from any Illinois i-Share campus, books obtained from i-Share/ILLiad libraries can be mailed to a U.S. address at no cost to the student.  The student will be responsible for the cost of mailing books back to the library.  Additional details and instructions are on the library web site.

    • You will need an i-Share account.  Create an i-Share account.
    • From the library home page select the books tab.
    • Click the "i-Share Catalog" link.
    • When you find the book you want, select "Request this item."  You will be asked to login with your i-Share account.
    • Click the "Choose pick-up location" button to specify where you want to pick the item up.
    • Click "Request."  You will be sent an email when your item is available.

Tutorials are available on basic searching techniques, library resources, and specialized databases.

Wheaton also subscribes to Lynda.com that provides high-quality video tutorials on a variety of topics.  When asked to log in - select "Work or School account" and use your first.last@my.wheaton.edu email login and password.

Loading

Helpful resources for each stage of your paper or project

Free citation managers like Zotero can help you manage and organize your information resources.  They also have features for note-taking and citation formatting as you write.

  • Check out the Zotero guide for step-by-step instructions on how to install and use Zotero
  • Zotero is also great for sharing and collaboration when working on a group project.
Loading

Graduate Research

Library Resources and Support 

Resource guides specific to many of our graduate academic programs have been created by subject librarians. Visit your program resource guide linked below which also contains the contact information of the subject librarian.  Subject librarians are available for research consultation by appointment or you can drop by their offices. 

Want to learn more about a specific topic such as Zotero, resources for theological studies, or writing a literature review.  Request a workshop on-demand.