This is the "Home" page of the "ENGL 215 - Classical and early British Literature" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Engl 215 syllabus

Admin Sign In 

ENGL 215 - Classical and early British Literature 

Survey of western literature from Homer to Shakespeare.
Last update: Dec 04th, 2009 URL: http://wheaton.libguides.com/ENGL215  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Home             Print Page
  
 

Library Catalog

[advanced search]

other library catalogs...

CATALOG SEARCHING TIPS:

-unless it is a known title you're after, use the "subject keyword" or "anyword anywhere" searches. Add '+' to your essential terms if you choose the later: e.g. +chaucer +criticism

-If you find get "no results", click on the "repeat search in I-Share" that appears also and request it from an I-Share library.

 

Books and articles via Google


Google Scholar

Scholar is a valuable secondary search to the key databases. It searches Google's growing but limited database of published books and articles.

 

Key Databases

These are your core resources for secondary literature in the form of journal articles, essays and books.

  • MLA International Bibliography  
      
    Provides citations of journal articles, books, chapters in books, conference proceedings, and dissertations in the discipline of English and other modern languages.
  • Project Muse  
      
    Provides the full text of journal articles from a selected set of journals in many disciplines.
  • JSTOR  
      
    Provides the full text of journal articles from a selected set of journals in many disciplines.
  • Gale Literature Resource Center  
      
    Find biographical sketches on most authors along with references to works of literary criticism and secondary literature.
  • ITER  
    Useful, more focused bibliography for Renaissance era
  • World Shakespeare Bibliography  
    Exhaustive database of Shakespearean resources

Primary texts online

  • Early English Books Online  
      
    Provides the full text of almost all surviving books, pamphlets, and broadsides published in England, Scotland, Wales, Ireland, and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473 to 1700.
 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageBrett Foster
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait