Skip to main content

EDUC 305 - Learning Differences: Home

EDUC 305 Educational Research Tutorial

Access the Educational Research Tutorial here:  http://libtutorials.wheaton.edu.ezproxy.wheaton.edu/tutorial/educational-research.  

If you are off campus, you will be prompted to enter your campus network login and password.

How do I...

Find books and articles?

  • Search using the Library home page
    • Use the search box to search for books and journal articles.  This includes our large collections of Springer e-Books,  Books are a great source of general information. 
  • Search directly any or all databases with information on the topic of Education
    • ERIC - journal articles and education related documents such as conference papers and reports.
    • JSTOR - full text of journal articles in education, history, and other related disciplines.
    • PsycINFO - citations and full text of journal articles and books in psychology and educational psychology.
  • Use Google or Google Scholar.  Evaluate your sources carefully to ensure the sources are scholarly.

Find education resources on the Internet?

Doing a Google search is one way to find information especially when you are looking for publicly available government information.    There are also websites that have been created that index some resources.

  • Add "site:.gov" or "site:.edu" to limit to government or educational domains.  You can also use the Google advanced search.
  • Use the search "tools" found at the top of a Google results page.  You can limit to a specific date range.
  • Other Tips for better Searching

Some specialized websites:

Get a journal article that I cannot access through Buswell?

Articles can be requested through ILLiad. 

  • Use the "Find it @ Wheaton" button found in most databases.  If Buswell Library does not have access to full text, you can place an ILLiad request. 
    • You will be prompted to set up an ILLiad account the first time you make a request. 
  • Articles are delivered electronically, you will get an email when an article you requested is available.

Find the full text of an article if I have a reference/citation

Use the Citation Search. (Also accessed from the "Articles" tab on the Library home page.)

  • If we do not have access to the full text you will be given the option to place an ILLiad request.

Find out if the library has access to a journal?

Search using Journal Finder. (Also accessed from the "Journals" tab on the Library home page.)

Get a book that is not owned by Buswell?

You can request a book through i-Share or ILLiad.  Both options are available from the detail results screen when you search from the library home page. 

  • i-Share requests can be made for books.  Requests go to consortia member libraries in Illinois.  This is typically faster than an ILLiad request. 
  • ILLiad is traditional interlibrary loan for both books and articles
    • You will be prompted to set up an ILLiad account the first time you make a request. 
Loading

Organize your research and more...

IRB information

Contact Brian Hunt brian.hunt@wheaton.edu if you have any questions about the IRB process.

Research is like Cooking

See how the principles of good cooking can be applied to writing a good research paper.
From Stanford University

Research Help